Rachel Johnson

Atheist Blogger- the godlessvagina / Podcaster the pink atheist

Words of wisdom.

7 Comments

I think I was always an angry Christian. I didn’t like what I was told to believe, or how I had to believe it. More, I didn’t like what it did to people around me. My happiest and best days have been since I left Christianity. I have grown to be a more humane human for it. Word to the wise, Christianity can’t pass the reality test. If you want more proof of that, I suggest you start to learn science. Christianity is not just wrong, it is recklessly, horribly wrong.

Author: Rachel Johnson

I am a writer about atheist issues. Separation of the church and state. Women and their right to choose, and sex. I talk about all of the "taboos" of modern life as well as evolution and science.

7 thoughts on “Words of wisdom.

  1. I am sorry if you have ever been mistreated by the Christian church. But Christianity isn’t the church. It’s Jesus. One can’t be told what to believe or how, because then it’s living off of a faith not her own. The Christian life is a journey. There are low, dark valleys, but then, if one seeks and finds God, the Creator of all, and asks for it, he will help and pull you up out of the darkness. God never told us it would be easy, but he did tell us that he would be there with us every step of the way.

    Anna

    • I know all about Jesus. I know all about him being nothing but a man. I know that he could not have walked on water, or turned water to wine, but more is I know he might have said some good things, but he did nothing for anyone. So no matter how I feel about the church, I feel nothing for the man that was Jesus. They are only words till you put them into practice.

  2. I was just thinking about this earlier. A friend of mine posted two contrasting stories: two men who both claimed to be practicing Christians–one of whom gave his life trying to save people from concentration camps, the other of whom was Adolph Hitler. Her point, which was absolutely correct, was that the man who died trying to save people stayed true to the tenants of his faith. Whereas Hitler did not.

    A friend and I have an ongoing debate on the subject–I always like to challenge people, but he points out what an immense source of strength faith is for many. Neither of us actually share an orthodox faith, but his approach is to make people better -through- their faith rather than by attacking it. Most religions, after all, have at their heart something about universal love. People who act unloving over secondary trappings are in most cases actually not being true to their religion.

    But then again…if a religion can’t -stop- someone from being cruel, it’s not much use, is it? I guess in some ways the conclusion I’m starting to come to is that people will just always be people. Most fail to follow the moral teachings of their faiths, and many without religious moral teachings to follow also behave immorally…I would love to find a way to fix this.

    • Being a woman who is taught her place is silence in the church, and her worth is her hymen, and her voice is nothing compared to men soured me. But the things you overlook, because you choose to, are the things that tore my heart open. How would a god of love let genocide happen? How could a loving god let men slaughter children and women, take slaves, and rape them? How can you silently overlook the horrors in the name of god, while thanking him for the ones he bestows upon you. Those who don’t hate god love him because they can choke down hate for themselves. I just can’t do it.

      • I couldn’t do it either. But I’ll never forget how hard losing my faith was. I debate how that should inform my interactions with believers.

  3. I agree one hundred percent. There will always be those who say we did it wrong or weren’t really christians, blah, blah, blah, but my happiest moments have also been post-Christian ones. Christians will “trust you” to make conversion decisions for yourself, but then distrust your feelings when you de-convert. You can’t win that mind game. Continued blessings!

Leave a Reply

